Racial Equity Challenge

Christ’s Kaleidoscope Challenge

What is “Christ’s Kaleidoscope?”

It is a new group of Northern Great Lakes Synod people who are passionate about leading our Synod’s efforts to see others through the eyes of Jesus.  The Kaleidoscope Challenge for Lent 2023 focuses on resources that educate and deepen cultural competency regarding racial equity, our indigenous neighbors, and the LGBTQIA+ community.

For the Challenge, each week participants listen, read, and watch various resources to engage the subject matter.  Then, you are invited to a weekly discussion to process your experience of these resources with a zoom cohort of your choosing.  A variety of facilitators, days, and times will be available.

The Year 2023 begins a year when we focus on Love.  This Lenten Kaleidoscope Challenge puts love into action as we make the effort to see others more clearly.  The goal is greater awareness and deeper understanding.

An informational flyer is available for download here.

Christ’s Kaleidoscope Challenge Schedule

Download the schedule here!

When does the Challenge take place?

The Challenge begins February 23 and runs through April 3.

What do I need to do?

Each participant will access the Challenge material here on our website and be encouraged, but not required, to join a cohort that will meet weekly for conversation via Zoom.

How much does it cost?

Participating in the Racial Equity Challenge is free to all participants!

When do the cohorts meet?

Registration for cohorts is coming soon!

  • Pastor Tommy Richter:  Sundays at 3 pm ET/2 pm CT
  • Pastor Bruce Thorsen & Sam Brink:  Sundays at 4 pm ET/3 pm CT
  • Amanda Rasner & Sam Brink:  Mondays at 11 am ET/10 am CT
  • Pastor Jared Howard:  Mondays at 12:30 pm ET/11:30 am CT
  • Pastor Kelly Ylitalo:  Mondays at 7 pm ET/6 pm CT

Northern Great Lakes Synod
1029 N. Third St., Suite A
Marquette, MI 49855
Phone: (906) 228-2300
Fax: (906) 228-2527DonationsOnline Donations