Synod Assembly Virtual Workshops

Taking place May 11th – 17th, virtual Synod Assembly Workshops and Synod Wide Hikes are available to all!

How to Join a Workshop: click the “Join Zoom Meeting” button to directly access the workshop link. We recommend accessing the link 5-10 minutes before the workshop’s start time.

All Week

Synod-Wide Conference Seed Sower Hike

Lead by U.P. Wild Church

  • May 11th – 19th

A joint event between the Northern Great Lakes Synod and U.P. Wild happening in conjunction with Synod Assembly Workshops. Hikes will take place between May 11th – 19th. Click below for details on how to join your conference’s hike.

Monday May 13th

Sowing Seeds Through Story

Lead by Nick Kiger and Karen Kretschmann

  • Monday May 13 – 6:00 pm CT / 7:00 pm ET

The ministry of our congregations, our synods and our churchwide organization is woven together through story. Our ministry stories convey messages about our faith, our relationships, our dreams and even our fears. During this workshop we will explore ways to share our stories that keep the transformative work of Jesus and our faith at the heart while engaging each other in something bigger than ourselves.

Land Acknowledgments: A Spiritual Practicality and Plan for Congregations.

Lead by Pastor Bucky Beach, Pastor Julie Belew, and Nancy Heykes

  • Monday May 13 – 5:00 pm CT / 6:00 pm ET

Join for a resource presentation and discussion of the why and how of doing land acknowledgments as a congregation practice as a beginning step to walk with our Indigenous neighbors. Led by Pastor Bucky Beach, Pastor Julie Belew, and Nancy Heykes, members of the NGLS Walking With Our Indigenous Neighbors Committee. 

Tuesday May 14th

Stewardship - ECRF

Lead by Pastor Mike Markwell

  • Tuesday, May 14 at 1:00 pm CT/ 2:00 pm ET

  • Wednesday, May 15 at 6:00 pm CT/ 7:00 pm ET

Faithful Innovations: What it is and how it can help your congregation in an adaptive, communal, learning process

Lead by Pastor Jim Duehring, Assistant to the Bishop and Director of Evangelical Mission

  • Tuesday, May 14 at 6:00 pm CT/ 7:00 pm ET

“Listen, Experiment, Reflect.”
Everyone wants to know how to improve our congregational ministries. It begins with intentional listening and willingness to experiment. It involves asking good questions.
19 Congregations in the Northern Great Lakes Synod have participated in this Faithful Innovations training model in the last 5 years. This workshop will give you an introduction into this process and invite you to consider having a team from your congregation join in this training.

Wednesday May 15th

Stewardship - ECRF

Lead by Pastor Mike Markwell

  • Tuesday, May 14 at 1:00 pm CT/ 2:00 pm ET

  • Wednesday, May 15 at 6:00 pm CT/ 7:00 pm ET

It’s all Greek to me!

Lead by Pastor Nicole Hanson-Lynn

  • Wednesday, May 15 at 6:30 pm CT/ 7:30 pm ET

  • Thursday, May 16 at 2:00 pm CT/ 3:00 pm ET

What is up with all these translations of the Bible?  Popular Bible website Bible Gateway gives free access to sixty-three different translations of the Bible in English, and that isn’t even all of the English translations.  The work of translators is still ongoing, and new translations of the Bible are published regularly.  But why is all this work necessary?  What is the point of all this translation work?  Perhaps more poignantly, how do we engage with Scripture when the selection of different Bibles is overwhelming?  In this workshop session, we’ll take a glimpse from 10,000 feet to appreciate the difficult work our translators are doing for us and dive into the midst of what these different translations have to do with how we engage with scripture. 

Thursday May 16th

It’s all Greek to me!

Lead by Pastor Nicole Hanson-Lynn

  • Wednesday, May 15 at 6:30 pm CT/ 7:30 pm ET

  • Thursday, May 16 at 2:00 pm CT/ 3:00 pm ET

What is up with all these translations of the Bible?  Popular Bible website Bible Gateway gives free access to sixty-three different translations of the Bible in English, and that isn’t even all of the English translations.  The work of translators is still ongoing, and new translations of the Bible are published regularly.  But why is all this work necessary?  What is the point of all this translation work?  Perhaps more poignantly, how do we engage with Scripture when the selection of different Bibles is overwhelming?  In this workshop session, we’ll take a glimpse from 10,000 feet to appreciate the difficult work our translators are doing for us and dive into the midst of what these different translations have to do with how we engage with scripture. 

Northern Great Lakes Synod Budget

Lead by Synod Treasurer Pastor Terry Frankenstein

  • Thursday, May 16 at 6:00 pm CT/ 7:00 pm ET

Friday May 17th

Discussion on Civic Life and Faith draft Social Statement

Lead by Synod Vice President Chuck Thomas

  • Friday, May 17 at 6:00 pm CT/ 7:00 pm ET